Marco Polo Releases Debut LP, Port Authority, On Rawkus/Soulspazm Records

Posted 9 years ago by
Tags: Marco Polo,
Marco Polo
Rawkus Records has a cherished and indelible place in the hip-hop history books, as it was the preeminent label of hip-hop’s glory age. More then a label, the name became a motto for what was right with hip-hop, and over the course of its storied history, became the model for all independent labels that followed in its wake. Now, Rawkus is back, and in doing so ushers in its rebirth with the same ideology it previously used to become a powerhouse - delivering quality music!

Known for having an ear for and developing talent - after all, Mos Def, Talib Kweli, Pharoahe Monche, Hi-Tek, El-P and the talent found on the Soundbombing Projects were initially discovered, housed, and made their name with Rawkus - the label’s eye for talent will be responsible for turning its latest additions into stars as well. And in 2007 they will continue to do so with Marco Polo’s debut LP Port Authority.

While Marco was born and raised in Toronto, after moving to NYC in 2002, he’s already made a name for himself in four short years working with artists of such caliber as The Boot Camp Click (The Last Stand—on which he produced the LP’s lead single), Masta Ace (A Long Hot Summer), and you will find his distinctive production included on upcoming projects from Heltah Skeltah, Large Professor, Buckshot, O.C., and EMC (collaborative group featuring Masta Ace, Wordsworth and Punchline), among many others. Marco is also a respected alumni member of The Beat Society, with four shows under his belt.

Already featured in Scratch Magazine’s highly-influential “Boiling Point” section in their Jan/Feb 2007 issue and recently named to Urb Magazine’s “Next 100” list for 2007, Marco’s entirely self-produced debut, Port Authority, (which will be released on 5-1-07) offers up the best of both worlds: an LP that seamlessly meshes collaborations with legendary names such as Kool G Rap, Masta Ace, Buckshot, Large Professor, Sadat X, O.C., AG, Ju Ju (Beatnuts) Ed O.G. and Kardinal Offishall, with the top up-and-coming lyricists of today including Copywrite, Kenn Starr, Jo Jo Pellegrino, Supastition, Roc Marciano (The U.N.) and J Davey.

Port Authority was a labor of love for Marco. As he laments, “This album represents the last three years of my life; my big move to NY from Toronto four years ago and the musical growth I’ve gone through while finishing it. It represents a part of hip-hop that is slowly and undeniably withering away. This album also represents my efforts to unite dope artists and make music that has lasting power. My project is not a compilation, it’s my ‘Soul Survivor’ (Pete Rock) and Port Authority will attest to that! People that loved Rawkus back in the day, this album will remind you why as it takes things back to the classic era of Rawkus Records.”

While Marco Polo’s Port Authority will kick off Rawkus’ calendar year in grand style on 5-1-07, the label has also unveiled some of the projects that will permanently re-establish Rawkus Records as a powerhouse label. Those projects include the re-release of Naledge and Double-O’s Kidz In The Hall debut School Was My Hustle, the official Soundtrack to Bruce Willis and Queen Latifah’s present: Hip Hop Project, Hezekiah’s I Predict A Riot, the fourth installment of Guru’s (Gang Starr) Jazzmatazz 4, Panacea’s sophomore LP Scenic Route, Rawkus Presents: Soundbombing 4, The Procussion’s sophomore LP and Naledge’s solo-debut Naledge Is Power.

Rawkus is back in the building, and the razor is sharper then ever!

By clicking on the following link it will take you directly to Windows and Real Audio to download Port Authority’s lead single, “War” Marco Polo f/Kardinal Offishal and “Hood Tales” Marco Polo f/ Kool G Rap and DV Alias Khryst:

Tracklisting and credits for Marco Polo’s Port Authority:

1.) “Port Authority Intro” f/O.C.
2.) “Get Busy” f/ Copywrite
3.) “Marquee” f/ O.C.
4.) “War” f/Kardinal Offishall
5.) “Nostalgia” f/ Masta Ace
6.) “The Wrong One” f/ Wordsworth
7.) “Low Budget All Stars” f/ Kev Brown, Kenn Starr, Oddisee, Cy Young & Kaimbr
8.) “Speak Softly” f/ Jo Jo Pellegrino
9.) “Time And Place” f/ Ed O.G.
10.) “The Radar” f/ Large Professor
11.) “All My Love” f/ Jaysaun
12.) “Lay It Down” f/ Roc Marciano of The U.N.
13.) “Go Around” f/ Buckshot
14.) “Hood Tales” f/ Kool G. Rap & DV Alias Khryst
15.) “Heat” f/ Supastition
16.) “Rollin” f/ Sadat X, AG & Ju Ju of The Beatnuts
17.) “For The Future” f/ Critically Acclaimed
18.) “Relax” f/ J. Davey "Relax" (Bonus Track)

Marco Polo  


Featured Video

New Features


Justin Timberlake’s Comeback Starts in Two Days, Can He Conquer R&B Again?

JT's return to music is imminent, can he kick young guys like The Weeknd and Bryson Tiller off the R&B/Pop throne he once occupied? Read More
Posted about 7 hours ago by Lucas G.

The Conspiracy Theory Behind “Lemonade” & Jay Z’s Rumored Response Album

You really think Jay was caught off guard by "Lemonade"? This has to be part of a larger plan from hip-hop's most powerful couple. Read More
Posted about 9 hours ago by Yoh

The New Beat Selling Economy That’s Paying Producers Outside the Music Industry

The internet is enabling a new generation of producers to build lucrative careers without a single music industry connection. Read More
Posted 9 hours ago by Nathan S.

The Team That Took The Weeknd From “House of Balloons” to Pop Stardom

Breaking down the original "House of Balloons" team that The Weeknd has reunited with for his next album. Read More
Posted 10 hours ago by Lucas G.

Diddy, Dr. Dre & Jay Z Richest Rappers Alive, Still Way Poorer Than the Illuminati

Forbes' new list is out and Diddy's worth $750 million. Impressive, but nothing compared to the worth of the people truly at the top of the game. Read More
Posted about 12 hours ago by Nathan S.

Forget Drake, Snoh Aalegra’s “Don’t Explain” is the Album You Should Be Listening To

The album you need to hear with production from Boi-1da, Dahi, and Dukes isn't the album you think.... Read More
Posted about 15 hours ago by Lucas G.
Sample Text - Sample Link




Discover the best new songs, videos, and albums added to the Booth.