Rapper Truth Universal Set To Release Debut, “Self Determination,” on April 8

Posted 8 years ago by
Download DJBooth's new App, The PLUG New York, NY -- Born in the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, Truth immigrated to the U.S. in 1977 with his parents at the age of 4. Growing up in New Orleans, LA, Truth learned early lessons of respect, discipline and perseverance from his working-class Caribbean upbringing.

TU was exposed to large amounts of Calypso, Soca, Reggae, Jazz and R&B at a very early age and as the years passed, he and all of his friends became heavily involved in hip-hop. At age 9, his family moved to the New Orleans East 9th Ward, and Truth began to immerse himself in the multiple roles of B-Boy, DJ, Producer and Emcee. Over time, he would become an energetic showman, with a veteran stage presence and crowd control.

In early 2006 Truth approached Paris with his work-in-progress debut album project and impressed Paris so much he quickly became a member Paris’ Guerrilla Funk family (Truth’s sophomore LP, Decolonization, is slated to be released in October 2008 on Paris’ Guerilla Funk label). Fully embodying Truth Universal's social and political awareness, Self Determination, is a tour de force which showcases his DIY attitude and his West Indian and New Orleans backgrounds. Self Determination encourages dialogue on topics that trouble communities of color across the planet. Truth touches on self-hatred, the struggle New Orleans residents to attain the right to return to their homes “post Katrina, “culture theft, policies of “the George Bush regime,” the Prison systems inequities and big business mentality.

Even with such serious topic matters being addressed, Truth always keeps his eyes on the prize with Self Determination and delivers his insightful and informative verses in an entertaining (edutainment) fashion and that is verified by collaborations with Wise Intelligent (formerly of Poor Righteous Teachers), Digable Planet’s Doodlebug and Dead Prez’s Stic.Man. Further, Truth enlists a top-notch assortment of producers as well; including Panik from The Molemen, S1 of Strange Fruit (S1 has previously worked with Little Brother and Erykah Badu), Nick Tha 1da (who works with Raheem Devaughn) and Bass Heavy who has worked with BG, Soulja Slim and is an in-house producer @ Mannie Fresh’ Fatboy Records.

Truth Universal’s debut, Self Determination, will be released on 4-8-08 by Dragon’s Breath Records.

Tracklisting and credits for Truth Universal’s Self-Determination:

1.) S-E-L-F Determination Intro (produced by Andino)
2.) Resistance Recital (produced by S1)
3.) Black Culture f/Wise Intelligent and Doodlebug (produced by Panik)
4.) Gotta Luv It (produced by Nick Tha 1da)
5.) Angola 3 (produced by Panik)
6.) Something Awful (Produced by Nick Tha 1da)
7.) Work (produced by Natural Born)
8.) Heat!!! (produced by Natural Born)
9.) Feminine Melanin f/Tondrae Kemp (produced by Gensu Dean)
10.) Beautiful Child Interlude (produced by Dan Freeman)
11.) The Best part (produced by S1)
12.) What It’s Bout f/Stic Man of Dead Prez (produced by Bass Heavy)
13.) Freedom(e) Or Death f/Sula of Zion Trinity (produced by Dan Freeman)
14.) Serve & Protect (produced by Bricks) ****Bonus Track

For More Information please visit: myspace.com/truthuniversal, dragonsbreathrecords.com, http://guerrillafunk.com/

Get The PLUG app by DJBooth and get the best hip-hop writing and news delivered daily.

Featured Video

Hip Hop News

This Drake & Kanye West Collabo Album Might Actually Happen

A Drake and Kanye West collaborative album isn't actually going to happen, right? Right? Read More
Posted 15 hours ago by DJ Z

Anderson .Paak Drops Truth Bomb on Lil Yachty: “Real Artists Are Students of the Game”

Lil Yachty might be young, but in order to remain relevant in rap he must do his homework. Read More
Posted about 16 hours ago by DJ Z

Post Malone Offers Unnecessary Apology For “Stoney” Album Delay

The Universal Republic signee did the right thing, but entitled fans are the real problem. Read More
Posted 17 hours ago by DJ Z

Mac Miller’s “The Divine Feminine” Album Is About The Stages Of Love

Love is the concept that Mac Miller will be exploring on his forthcoming "The Divine Feminine" album. Read More
Posted 2 days ago by Yoh

Young Thug’s “Jeffery” Cover Isn’t Shocking, Stop It

Young Thug is wearing a dress, it's not a big deal guys. Read More
Posted 2 days ago by Yoh

Young Thug “No, My Name is JEFFERY” Cheat Code Album Review

The artist either formerly or still known as Young Thug presents his most compelling work of the year. Read More
Posted 2 days ago by Brendan V
Sample Text - Sample Link




Discover the best new songs, videos, and albums added to the Booth.