Talib Kweli Releases Surprise B-Sides Album ft. Kanye, Common & More

Veteran emcee Talib Kweli releases a surprise LP with guest spots from Kanye, Common and more.

We're in The Age of the Surprise Album. It's now a near weekly occurrence to see a notable artist release a project out of the blue. The latest emcee to follow the surprise plan of action is Talib Kweli, an artist who has always shied away from popular trends in lieu of focusing his energy on simply making great music.

Luckily, Talib's latest project is comprised of that great music he's been crafting over the years though to this point has remained mostly unheard. Entitled Train of Thought: Lost Lyrics, Rare Releases & Beautiful B-Sides Vol. 1, the collection spans 10 tracks of rarities, B-sides and unreleased material.

The tracklist (see below) alone should be reason enough to make a purchase, if not more the mere fact that it's a new Talib album, with features from Common, Consequence, Kanye West, Killer Mike, Yasiin Bey (formerly Mos Def) and more. Production comes courtesy of all DJ Quik, Hi-Tek, Kanye, Rahki, and more. Also, if you're a rap nerd, brace yourself; the project also includes an unreleased Black Star record, "Bright As The Stars." Boom.



Lil Poppa Counts His Blessings

Lil Poppa is a reluctant rap star. The Jacksonville native speaks with Audiomack about his success.


10 Rappers You Should Know Right Now: July 2021

Kali, BigWalkDog, Cico P, and BoofPaxkMooky are among the 10 new rappers you need to know on Audiomack.


Amindi Won’t Be Boxed In

Rapper and singer Amindi refuses to be boxed in. She breaks down her new EP, 'Nice,' for Audiomack.

We recommend you dive into Talib's vaults yourself. Train of Thought: Lost Lyrics, Rare Releases & Beautiful B-Sides Vol. 1 is available now through Kweli's website.

1. Space (prod. by Dave West)
2. 2000 Seasons (prod. by Hi-Tek)
3. Black Star - Bright As The Stars (prod. by Ayatollah)
4. Wack Niggaz ft. Common, Kanye & Consequence (prod. by Kanye)
5. Boomerang ft. NIKO IS, K'Valentine & Cory Mo (prod. by Cory Mo)
6. Ocean Song ft. Mela Machinko (prod. by Rahki)
7. 7:30 ft. RES (prod. by DJ Quik)
8. Fortfied Live ft. Yasiin Bey & Mr. Man (prod. by Hi-Tek)
9. Tryin To Breathe ft. Killer Mike (prod. by Midi Mafia)
10. Distractions (prod. by Oh No)

[By Brendan Varan. His surprise album is coming soon. Follow him on Twitter.]



Talib Kweli's New Album 'Radio Silence' Has a Stacked Feature Lineup

Why you should be excited for Talib's eight studio offering.


Talib Kweli Puts Being an Independent Artist in 2017 in Perspective

Talib’s been in the game for a long time, and he knows what he’s talking about.