Holy Sh*t You Need to Hear Childish Gambino's "Me and Your Mama"

Donald Glover can do no wrong in 2016.

Thanks to his hit FX series Atlanta, we’ve seen more of Donald Glover/Childish Gambino in 2016 than in the previous two years combined. On top of the show’s huge success and widespread praise, Glover was recently announced as this generation’s Lando Calrissian in the upcoming Star Wars Han Solo spinoff film.

As if 2016 hadn’t granted us enough of Glover’s magic, we were just recently treated to the prospect of a new Childish Gambino album, which has since been confirmed as Awaken, My Love! and set for a December 2 release date.

Glover returned to Twitter yesterday to hint at the album with only a vague post—one that made us realize he’s been teasing this new project since the second-to-last episode of Atlanta—but today, all the vagueness and rumors were given solidarity.

World premiere machine Zane Lowe debuted a brand new track from Gambino, entitled “Me and Your Mama,” on Beats 1 Radio, and holy shit it is good.

Woah. It sounds like rumors of Gambino's latest project being his most musically ambitious to date, from when he performed it at his own Pharos Festival earlier this year, were dead-on.



Stepping Into Cico P’s Texas

East Texas native Cico P makes a case for not sleeping on his city. He breaks down his sound for Audiomack World.


Juls’ Journey Through the Diaspora

Juls helped build up Afrobeats from a footnote in global pop music into a full and highly-cited chapter. He breaks it down for Audiomack World.


Don Toliver, Tame Impala & 5an: Best of the Week

Don Toliver, Tame Impala, 5an, and more, all had the best new songs on Audiomack this week.

“Me and Your Mama” starts off with a spacey, soulful set-up before everything comes crashing down half-way through with some aggressively fuzzy soul. Gambino channels equal parts Prince and Ray Charles as the track reaches a crescendo before settling back into the ethereal vibe of the intro.

With “Me and Your Mama," Gambino is back and sounding better—and more different—than ever. That three-year hiatus was clearly for good reason, and I can’t wait to hear what else he has in store.

Gambino's Awaken, My Love! is scheduled for release on December 2, and currently available for pre-order on his website. Check out the full tracklist below.

  1. Me and Your Mama
  2. Have Some Love
  3. Boogieman
  4. Zombies
  5. Riot
  6. Redbone
  7. California
  8. Terrified
  9. Baby Boy
  10. The Night Me and Your Mama Met
  11. Stand Tall


By Brent Bradley. Follow him on Twitter.

Photo Credit: AwakenMyLove.com



Holy Sh*t You Need to Hear This Piano Tribute Version of Frank Ocean’s ‘Blonde’ Album

A must-listen for any Frank fan, the album is elegance in motion from an artist whose identity is a mystery.


Holy Sh*t You Need to Hear Kintaro's "Mk" Featuring Anderson .Paak

Thundercat’s youngest brother comes through with a summertime slapper.


Holy Sh*t You Need to Hear Lil Wayne's Verse on B.o.B's "E.T."

Bobby Ray got a 'Carter III'-caliber verse from his fellow martian.


Holy Sh*t You Need to Hear Danger Mouse's "Chase Me" With Big Boi & Run The Jewels

Listen to the adrenaline-fueled first single off the forthcoming 'Baby Driver' soundtrack.


Holy Sh*t You Need to Hear Pusha T's "H.G.T.V."

Pusha T finally returns with a new single and it's scorching hot.