A Tribe Called Quest Score First RIAA Certification in 18.5 Years for 'We Got It from Here...'

It's been a while.

A Tribe Called Quest has earned a Gold certification for last year's comeback album We Got It from Here... Thank You 4 Your Service for sales exceeding 500,000 album equivalent units, according to the RIAA.

Released on November 11, 2016, We Got It from Here... is the group's sixth studio album, their first since 1998's The Love Movement—their last album to score a certification—and the first since the passing of founding member Phife Dawg in March 2016.

With the certification of We Got It from Here... Thank You 4 Your Service, all six of the group's studio albums are now certified either Gold (The Love Movement, People's Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm) or Platinum (Beats, Rhymes and Life, The Low End Theory, Midnight Marauders). Surprisingly, to date, not one Tribe single has earned a certification of any kind. 

Upon its release, We Got It from Here...debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200, moving 135,000 equivalent album units in the week ending Nov. 17, according to Nielsen Music.