American Gangster Soundtrack Set For Novemeber 6th Release


New York, NY -- On Tuesday, November 6, the Island Def Jam Music Group will release the AMERICAN GANGSTER original motion picture soundtrack album. Impacting at Urban AC radio on October 1st will be the first single and opening track, "Do You Feel Me," composed by mega-platinum Grammy-winning and Oscar®-nominated songwriter Diane Warren, and performed by six-time Grammy-nominated platinum artist Anthony Hamilton.

In addition to Hamilton, the AMERICAN GANGSTER album features classic blues, R&B, soul and hip-hop tracks from Lowell Fulson, John Lee Hooker, Bobby Womack, Sam & Dave, the Staple Singers, and Public Enemy, plus new cuts by composer Marc Streitenfeld and by DJ-turned-producer Hank Shocklee, who was extensively involved with the project.

In addition to the four original pieces that Shocklee co-wrote and produced under his own name, he also produced both new tracks by Anthony Hamilton (the single "Do You Feel Me" and "Stone Cold") as well as Public Enemy's Def Jam classic of 1991, "Can't Truss It." As a member of the original Bomb Squad production team (with his brother Keith, Public Enemy's Chuck D, and Eric 'Vietnam' Sadler) Shocklee was at the boards for some of rap and hip-hop's greatest Def Jam releases by Public Enemy, LL Cool J, 3rd Bass, EPMD, Slick Rick, Alyson Williams, and others; as well as records by such varied names as Run-DMC, Sinéad O'Connor, Bell Biv Devoe, Peter Gabriel, Ice Cube, and Yoko Ono.

The final album track listing is:

1). Do You Feel Me (Anthony Hamilton)

2). Why Don't We Do It In The Road? (Lowell Fulson)

3). No Shoes (John Lee Hooker)

4). Across 110th Street (Bobby Womack)

5). Stone, Cold (Anthony Hamilton)

6). Hold On I'm Comin' (Sam & Dave)

7). I'll Take You There (the Staple Singers)

8). Can't Truss It (Public Enemy)

9). Checkin' Up On My Baby (Hank Shocklee)

10). Club Jam (Hank Shocklee)

11). Railroad (Hank Shocklee)

12). Nicky Barnes (Hank Shocklee)

13). Hundred Percent Pure (Marc Streitenfeld)

14). Frank Lucas (Marc Streitenfeld).



JAY-Z 'American Gangster' Album Review

"The album has the kind of intensity and craftsmanship we haven’t seen from Jay in years, maybe ever."