Skip to main content

Drake's 'Nothing Was the Same' Album Leaked, Let's Start Listening...

There's the release date, and then there's the leak date, and in 2013, it's the leak date that matters.

You know what's crazy? On Saturday, I was on a panel with Olaf Thomsen, who clears samples for UMG Publishing. Before the panel, we were talking, and I asked him what big projects he was working on, and he said that he was waiting* on Drake's Nothing Was the Same. He was supposed to have it Friday, but at the last minute Drake decided to record through the weekend, so now he was just hoping to have it by Monday morning. 

Well...apparently Drake finished recording because by Sunday night, Aubrey Graham's third album was all over the internet like a Kardashian sex tape. Now, before we move on, let me say that to some degree I agree with J. Cole—first listen reviews are fucking up hip-hop. But let's be real; there's the release date, and then there's the leak date, and in 2013, it's the leak date that matters.

I learned during the "Yeezus" leak that sharing the album so that all of our readers could listen and discuss it was actually really dope. Over the days, as I listened and listened again, I found some comments really changing my mind, or at least making me think about certain songs in different ways. It's kind of like the internet version of listening to an album with all your homies and debating it.

Scroll to Continue



5 New Albums You Need to Hear This Week

Press play on new albums from Drake, Kevin Gates, Duke Deuce, Lakeyah, and Ambré.


5 Songs You Need to Hear: Best of the Week

Tap in with new songs from Falz, Pharrell Williams, SZA, LADIPOE, and Muni Long.


“None of It Makes Sense”: An Interview With JELEEL!

Rapper JELEEL! has enough viral energy to power a city block. He breaks down the process of finding his voice for Audiomack.

So let's all crack up a drink or two (or a coffee if you're opening this in the morning) and get to listening and commenting. As I type this I literally haven't listened to more than the 30 seconds snippets as I was grabbing the YouTube streams, so I'll be starting fresh along with y'all.

Streams are below the tracklist, here's the pre-order link for those motivated to officially cop. You can listen in that handy-dandy player below. Enjoy, or what not...

UPDATE: Nothing Was the Same is now officially out. Buy here

1. "Tuscan Leather" 
2. "Furthest Thing"  
3. "Started from the Bottom" 
4. "Wu-Tang Forever"    
5. "Own It"    
6. "Worst Behavior"    
7. "From Time" (featuring Jhené Aiko) 
8. "Hold On, We're Going Home" (featuring Majid Jordan)
9. "Connect" 
10. "The Language"     
11. "305 to My City"
12. "Too Much" (featuring Sampha) 
13. "Pound Cake / Paris Morton Music 2" (featuring Jay Z)
14. "Come Thru" (Bonus)
15. "All Me" (Featuring 2 Chainz & Lil Wayne) (Bonus)
16.  "The Motion" (Featuring Sampha) (Bonus)



All 71 People Credited on Drake's 'VIEWS' Album

Bet you didn't know that DMX, Kanye, and Diddy all have credits on 'VIEWS.'


We Ranked Every Drake Album From Worst to Best

We took Drake's discography to date—albums, mixtapes and "playlists"—and ranked every entry.


Drake 'VIEWS' 1 Listen Album Review

At the height of his powers, Drake released a 20-song album that's surprisingly slow but still offers up some real moments.