Skip to main content

DJ JS-1 ft. MURS & Fashawn - Whatever It Takes

  • Artist: DJ JS-1
  • Track: Whatever It Takes
  • Feat. MURS, Fashawn
  • Producer: DJ JS-1
  • Album: It Is What It Isn't

On Turn the Tables, the lead single off his latest compilation album, DJ JS-1 and guest spitter O.C. aggressively repudiated the rapper-centric culture of contemporary hip-hop, which pushes the crucial contributions of DJs into the background. Freshly-released follow-up Whatever It Takes retains that joint's passion and urgency, while broadening the focus from the music game to society as a whole. JS-1's soulful samples accompany underground mainstay MURS and Mass Appeal emcee Fashawn as they reflect on the continuing effects of racism, as well as their individual experiences on the grind. Tied together with the headliner's masterful cuts and scratches, Whatever It Takes is just one of many quality cuts to be found on It Is What It Isn't, out now in CD, vinyl and digital formats.



DJ Neptune, Yungeen Ace & Joony: Best of the Week

DJ Neptune, Yungeen Ace, and Joony, among others, have the best new songs on Audiomack this week.


10 Rappers You Should Know Right Now

Luh Soldier, Snowsa, SGaWD, and K.Charles are four of the 10 new rappers you need to know right now on Audiomack.


Freddie Gibbs, Saweetie & Earl Sweatshirt: Best of the Week

Freddie Gibbs, Saweetie, and Earl Sweatshirt, among others, had the best new songs on Audiomack this week.