Skotch Davis - Skotchtastic

Posted 4 years ago
Producer:
M.Will
Album:
On My Grizzly: Skotch Tape 2

While the foundation of Hip-Hop is usually simplified to beats and rhymes, we can’t help but to love music that incorporates all sorts of sounds and styles. While a turntable and drumbeat did justice to Rakim and Eric B, we also couldn’t get enough of the horns of All of The Lights. Skotch Davis, making his DJBooth debut today, definitely leans towards the more complex side of the spectrum on his new gem Skotchtastic. Produced by M.Will, the song intros with what sounds likes a 1970’s space cadet movie, then once the hi-hats hit and the horns blow we get a head bobbing beat which Skotch accompanies with his fast and slightly distorted flow; at some points it sounds like he recorded through a Home Alone Talkboy. With an up-tempo style and on-point flow that reminds me of a lot of Southern rappers, I couldn’t help but to bounce my shoulders along to Skotch Davis as he prepares for his project On My Grizzly: Skotch Tape 2, coming at an unscheduled point in the future.

Skotch Davis Downloads

Written by
Posted 4 years ago

More from Skotch Davis

Featured Video

New Features

2016-05-03-chance-the-rapper-album-art

Chance The Rapper’s Album Art Uncovers the Man Behind the Artist

Put all three of Chance's album covers side by side and you'll see the story of Chancellor Bennett's rise through music. Read More
Posted 11 hours ago by Yoh
2016-05-03-aesop-rock-daylight-nightlight

Holy Sh*t You Need to Hear Aesop Rock’s “Daylight/Nightlight”

15 years later and I've still never heard anyone else attempt to flip their own track like Aesop does here. You need to hear this. Read More
Posted 13 hours ago by Nathan S.
2016-05-03-goodbye-puffy

A Toast to Diddy Following His Retirement Announcement

Diddy says he's retiring from music to focus on film and other business. Let's raise our Ciroc and toast to a master. Read More
Posted about 16 hours ago by Yoh
2016-05-03-rittz-bless-the-booth

Rittz Just Absolutely Murdered His Bless the Booth Freestyle (Video)

The Strange Music emcee blesses the booth with his country-fried machine gun flow. Read More
Posted 16 hours ago by Brendan V
2015-05-03-killer-mike-free-music

“Why Pretend Like You’re Gonna Sell a Million?”: Killer Mike on the Money Behind Free Music

In 2016, even superstars like Beyoncé and Drake know that the real money is in releasing free music. Read More
Posted about 17 hours ago by Nathan S.
2016-05-03-afeni-shakur-died

Remembering The Time I Almost Interviewed Afeni Shakur

The political activist and mother of the late rap icon has passed away, but her impact will never be forgotten. Read More
Posted 18 hours ago by DJ Z
Sample Text - Sample Link
0:00
3:00
Shrink
Hide

TRENDING NOW



Flame

TOP 20 MUSIC CHARTS


Discover the best new songs, videos, and albums added to the Booth.