Skotch Davis - My Life Is Like

Posted 2 years ago
Producer:
Thelonious Martin
Album:

Everyone and their mother loves the Grits’ song “My Life Be Like (Ooh Ahh),” but I find the record to be too grammatically incorrect and poppy. Thanks to Skotch Davis, though, hip-hop heads and grammar buffs finally have a song for them. After a two year absence from the Booth, Skotch makes his triumphant return on My Life Is Like. Backed by a glossy, fluttering beat from Thelonious Martin, Davis weaves in and out with each colorful bar—“I’m extra Davey got a Jones for a sexy lady”— coasting from start to finish. While My Life Is Like is not currently attached to a larger project release, you can hop into the Way Back machine and peep his last Booth feature, Skotchtastic.

Skotch Davis Indie

Written by
Posted 2 years ago

More from Skotch Davis

Skotch Davis - My Life Is Like (Maxi-Single) Cover
Harlem buzzmaker Skotch Davis has come together with The DJBooth to offer fans a free, exclusive stream of his My Life Is Like (Maxi-Single). In addition to the title track, which is produced by Thelonious Martin, the set... More
Posted on Sep 16, 2013

Featured Video

New Features

2016-05-03-chance-the-rapper-album-art

Chance The Rapper’s Album Art Uncovers the Man Behind the Artist

Put all three of Chance's album covers side by side and you'll see the story of Chancellor Bennett's rise through music. Read More
Posted 10 hours ago by Yoh
2016-05-03-aesop-rock-daylight-nightlight

Holy Sh*t You Need to Hear Aesop Rock’s “Daylight/Nightlight”

15 years later and I've still never heard anyone else attempt to flip their own track like Aesop does here. You need to hear this. Read More
Posted 12 hours ago by Nathan S.
2016-05-03-goodbye-puffy

A Toast to Diddy Following His Retirement Announcement

Diddy says he's retiring from music to focus on film and other business. Let's raise our Ciroc and toast to a master. Read More
Posted about 15 hours ago by Yoh
2016-05-03-rittz-bless-the-booth

Rittz Just Absolutely Murdered His Bless the Booth Freestyle (Video)

The Strange Music emcee blesses the booth with his country-fried machine gun flow. Read More
Posted 15 hours ago by Brendan V
2015-05-03-killer-mike-free-music

“Why Pretend Like You’re Gonna Sell a Million?”: Killer Mike on the Money Behind Free Music

In 2016, even superstars like Beyoncé and Drake know that the real money is in releasing free music. Read More
Posted about 16 hours ago by Nathan S.
2016-05-03-afeni-shakur-died

Remembering The Time I Almost Interviewed Afeni Shakur

The political activist and mother of the late rap icon has passed away, but her impact will never be forgotten. Read More
Posted 17 hours ago by DJ Z
Sample Text - Sample Link
0:00
3:00
Shrink
Hide

TRENDING NOW



Flame

TOP 20 MUSIC CHARTS


Discover the best new songs, videos, and albums added to the Booth.